Australian automotive news & analysis

Tuesday, 29 September 2026
Dealers & retail ↗

Savic Motorcycles seeks buyer, investor or industrial partner

The Melbourne electric-motorcycle maker is considering a buyer, investment or industrial partnership. Reporting on 28 September puts a figure on a proposed capital raise, but no deal has been announced.

Automatically researched, written and checked using AI. Verify details against the sources.

Share
Concept illustration for: Savic Motorcycles seeks buyer, investor or industrial partner
AI-generated contextual editorial illustration inspired by this story. People and settings are illustrative, not a depiction of a manufacturer vehicle or a real event. DriveAgent · AI illustration · AI-generated editorial illustrationElectric Motorbike Maker Savic Seeks $15m to Fund Global ExpansionSavic Motorcycles seeks buyer, investor or partnerSavic Opens the Door to Buyers: What It Means for Owners

Savic opens a transaction process

Melbourne electric-motorcycle manufacturer Savic Motorcycles has opened a strategic transaction process, inviting potential acquirers, investors and industrial partners to approach the business. It is considering an acquisition, strategic investment or industrial partnership, not announcing a completed deal. AutoTalk Australia says Savic wants manufacturing capacity, supply-chain capability, distribution or international market access alongside capital. A Yahoo Finance article reports that interested parties can request information and a confidential discussion through Savic’s transaction page. 243

Reporting carried by Ground News on 28 September adds a proposed funding figure. An Australian Financial Review headline says Savic is seeking $15 million for expansion, while an evshift.com summary says it is seeking up to $15 million in fresh capital at a $30 million valuation. These are reported terms of a prospective raise, not funds received or an agreed sale price. On 17 September, AutoTalk Australia said Savic had not disclosed a target transaction size or valuation; MCNews said no buyer, partner or timetable for a transaction had been named. The later figures do not establish that a deal has been reached. 124

A further step after the 2025 funding round

The process follows a $2 million funding round completed in December 2025 and Marc Alexander’s appointment as chief executive. AutoTalk Australia says that funding was presented at the time as support for international expansion and increased production. Founder Dennis Savic moved to the board when Alexander took the role, according to AutoTalk; MCNews reported in September 2026 that he was no longer directly involved in the company. That account does not establish whether he still holds a board seat. 24

AutoTalk Australia reports that Savic sells directly to customers rather than through motorcycle dealers, handling test rides, configuration, sales and aftersales itself. It also reports a pilot with Kangan Institute covering electric-motorcycle servicing and technician training. The Yahoo Finance article describes Savic’s published C-Series terms as providing a two-year, unlimited-kilometre component warranty and a five-year warranty for the battery and battery management system. 43

The motorcycle and the technology on offer

Founded in 2016, Savic has brought its C-Series electric motorcycle through development and into customers’ hands. AutoTalk Australia and MCNews report that the motorcycle completed Australian Design Rules compliance, underwent testing at Phillip Island and Lang Lang, and involved Bosch Australia in anti-lock braking integration. MCNews’s 2023 ride was of a prototype: its rider praised the smooth power delivery and road manners while noting that development was continuing. Those impressions were not a test of a customer-delivered motorcycle. 24

Savic says it owns technology covering the SM1 powertrain platform, vehicle controls, software, displays, mobile and cloud applications, and industrial design. It says the architecture could support further motorcycles and other electric two-wheeler applications. Ground News carries an Australian Financial Review description of an expansion ambition involving five new models; that is a reported plan, not five launched motorcycles. MCNews said on 17 September that Savic had announced neither another production model nor a launch timetable as part of the transaction process. 241

The Yahoo Finance article, drawing on Savic’s owner information, says the current C-Series uses a Type 2 connection and a 3.3kW onboard AC charger, without DC fast charging. It gives Savic’s estimates for the top-spec Alpha as more than 220km in city riding and around 140km at a steady 100km/h. The figures describe different riding conditions and are manufacturer estimates, not independently measured range results. 3

Operations in Melbourne and China

Savic says its West Melbourne facility supports engineering, motorcycle production, customer deliveries and test rides. AutoTalk Australia and MCNews describe a company-owned subassembly operation in Taizhou, China, supporting SM1 powertrain parts and access to international electric-vehicle component supply chains. Savic is seeking a partner to help expand those operations and the technology platform, rather than announcing a change of owner or a new manufacturing arrangement. 24

Delivery dates remain inconsistent

The accounts differ on the first C-Series customer delivery. A Yahoo Finance article dated 24 September says Savic’s company timeline places it in December 2024. MCNews and AutoTalk Australia, both reporting on 17 September, say customer deliveries began in 2025. Neither account resolves the difference, although all describe the motorcycle as having reached customers. 324

AutoTalk Australia said on 17 September that Savic had not disclosed sales volumes or revenue. MCNews reported no named buyer or partner and no timetable for completing a transaction. The fundraising figures reported on 28 September add detail to Savic’s search for backing, but do not settle whether the outcome will be an investment, an acquisition or an industrial partnership. 421

Share

AI evidence finder

Ask about this article

Ask a question to find relevant published passages and source links. AI selects evidence; the passages remain exactly as published.

Your question is processed by AI. Please leave out personal details.

0/400

Behind this report

Sources & context

How these labels work ↗

Cited source mix

4 cited pages across 4 websites

  • Role not assessed 4
Website breakdown

4 cited pages with an undocumented publisher role. Websites may share ownership or repeat the same reporting.

Saved research extracts

4 / 4 cited pages with saved extracts

0 shortened at our text limit · 0 without a saved-extract record

Extracts retrieved 29 Sep 2026.

Extracts can omit page content. These counts do not verify claims or measure independent reporting. Political leaning and reliability are not rated.

  1. Electric Motorbike Maker Savic Seeks $15m to Fund Global Expansion

    ground.news · 28 Sep 2026 · accessed 29 Sep 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Electric Motorbike Maker Savic Seeks $15m to Fund Global Expansion

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 3 paragraphs: Savic opens a transaction process; The motorcycle and the technology on offer; Delivery dates remain inconsistent.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 29 Sep 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  2. Savic Motorcycles seeks buyer, investor or partner

    mcnews.com.au · 17 Sep 2026 · accessed 29 Sep 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Savic Motorcycles seeks buyer, investor or partner

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 8 paragraphs: Savic opens a transaction process; A further step after the 2025 funding round; The motorcycle and the technology on offer; Operations in Melbourne and China; Delivery dates remain inconsistent.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 29 Sep 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  3. Savic Opens the Door to Buyers: What It Means for Owners

    finance.yahoo.com · 23 Sep 2026 · accessed 29 Sep 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Savic Opens the Door to Buyers: What It Means for Owners

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 4 paragraphs: Savic opens a transaction process; A further step after the 2025 funding round; The motorcycle and the technology on offer; Delivery dates remain inconsistent.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 29 Sep 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  4. Savic opens to acquirers nine months after $2m funding ...

    autotalk.com.au · 17 Sep 2026 · accessed 29 Sep 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Savic opens to acquirers nine months after $2m funding ...

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 9 paragraphs: Savic opens a transaction process; A further step after the 2025 funding round; The motorcycle and the technology on offer; Operations in Melbourne and China; Delivery dates remain inconsistent.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 29 Sep 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.