Australian automotive news & analysis

Thursday, 22 October 2026
EVs & hybrids ↗

AmpolCard expands to cover EV charging through the AmpCharge network

Ampol has announced that its AmpolCard offering now includes electric vehicle charging through the AmpCharge network, extending the card beyond conventional fuel purchases as the company builds out its charging footprint.

Synthesised from the cited sources. Research, writing and factual checks are automated using AI. Verify details against the sources. How we produce these reports

Share
Concept illustration for: AmpolCard expands to cover EV charging through the AmpCharge network
DriveAgent contextual illustration inspired by this story. People and settings are illustrative, not a depiction of a manufacturer vehicle or a real event. DriveAgent illustrationAmpol Media CentreJobs and Employment at Ampol[PDF] ASX Release - investorpa

The announcement

Ampol has announced the expansion of its AmpolCard offering to include electric vehicle charging through the AmpCharge network. The announcement appears on Ampol's media centre under the headline 'AmpolCard Expands To AmpCharge Electric Vehicle Charging'. The published summary does not detail pricing, cardholder terms or a commencement date for the expanded offering. 1

AmpolCard is the company's fuel-card product for business customers, and the change means the card can now be used at AmpCharge public charging locations as well as for conventional fuel purchases. Beyond that, the announcement material supplied does not specify eligibility conditions or transaction arrangements for charging transactions. 1

Where AmpCharge sits in Ampol's business

Ampol describes itself as Australia's largest transport energy provider, spanning refining, fuel retailing and the AmpCharge electric vehicle charging network. The company's December 2025 investor presentation records AmpCharge's launch in 2022 and describes a simplified approach to the energy transition focused on EV charging and renewable fuels, alongside an exit from electricity retailing in Australia and New Zealand. 31

Third-party company-overview figures published by Simplify indicate the charging network had reached 356 Australian charging bays plus 217 in New Zealand as of June 2026, under the name AmpolCharge. Those figures are a third-party summary rather than a primary Ampol statement, and neither source details the split between fast and standard chargers. 2

Broader charging investment

The AmpolCard expansion sits alongside wider charging investment. Ampol's media centre lists a separate announcement that its subsidiary Ampol Energy Pty Ltd has entered into a share sale agreement to acquire 100 per cent of Fast Cities Australia Pty Ltd, operator of the Evie Networks public charging network, for a purchase price of $225 million. The media centre page does not state a completion date for that transaction, so it remains an agreement rather than a completed acquisition as far as the published material shows. 1

Concept illustration for: AmpolCard expands to cover EV charging through the AmpCharge network
DriveAgent contextual illustration inspired by this story. People and settings are illustrative, not a depiction of a manufacturer vehicle or a real event.DriveAgent illustrationAmpol Media Centre ↗Jobs and Employment at Ampol ↗[PDF] ASX Release - investorpa ↗

Grid connection and heavy vehicle charging context

Grid connection costs have been a documented barrier to charging rollout. The Driven reported in September 2026 that Ampol's AmpCharge business and distribution network Ausgrid had agreed an Australian-first dynamic connection agreement for a site north of Wyong in New South Wales, allowing the chargers to draw spare grid capacity when available and reduce demand during rare network peaks. The publication reported this turned what could have been a multimillion-dollar grid connection into one costing about $90,000 for eight charging bays of up to 200 kW each, and noted Ampol had previously warned that network connection problems were holding back its charging rollout. 2

On commercial vehicles, Foton Mobility Distribution announced a memorandum of understanding with Ampol in late September 2026 to explore e-mobility charging solutions across the AmpCharge public network, at commercial charging hubs and at private depots for FMD's electric bus and vehicle fleet, as reported by Australasian Bus and Coach. Compatibility testing between FMD trucks and AmpCharge chargers is part of the arrangement. 2

Ampol's head of energy business solutions, Rebecca Wilson, said in the FMD announcement that heavy transport presents challenges differing from passenger EV charging, including higher energy demands, longer dwell times and route planning across long-haul corridors, and that working with FMD allows Ampol to tailor AmpCharge infrastructure and depot charging solutions to fleet operators' operational needs. 2

What is and is not established

The confirmed change is that AmpolCard, previously a fuel-payment product, now covers EV charging through AmpCharge, according to Ampol's own announcement. The published material does not state pricing or transaction fees for cardholders at AmpCharge chargers, which vehicle types are eligible, or whether card access would extend to Evie Networks sites should that acquisition complete. Businesses needing those specifics would need to confirm terms with Ampol directly. 1

The surrounding context - the Evie agreement, the Ausgrid dynamic connection and the Foton memorandum of understanding - shows the card expansion is one element of a broader build-out of Ampol's charging business. Each of those items remains at a different stage: a share sale agreement without a stated completion date, an operational connection arrangement at one site, and an exploratory memorandum of understanding rather than a commercial deployment. 12

Share

AI evidence finder

Ask about this article

Ask a question to find relevant published passages and source links. AI selects evidence; the passages remain exactly as published.

Your question is processed by AI. Please leave out personal details.

0/400

Behind this report

Sources & context

How these labels work ↗

Cited source mix

3 cited pages across 3 websites

  • Role not assessed 3
Website breakdown

3 cited pages with an undocumented publisher role. Websites may share ownership or repeat the same reporting.

Saved research extracts

3 / 3 cited pages with saved extracts

3 shortened at our text limit · 0 without a saved-extract record

Extracts retrieved 22 Oct 2026.

Extracts can omit page content. These counts do not verify claims or measure independent reporting. Political leaning and reliability are not rated.

  1. Ampol Media Centre

    ampol.com.au · 5 Dec 2024 · accessed 22 Oct 2026

    Role not assessedShortened extract saved
    Why these labels?Ampol Media Centre

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 6 paragraphs: The announcement; Where AmpCharge sits in Ampol's business; Broader charging investment; What is and is not established.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 22 Oct 2026. The retained extract was cut to our text limit; omitted material has not been assessed here.

  2. Jobs and Employment at Ampol

    simplify.jobs · 1 Jun 2026 · accessed 22 Oct 2026

    Role not assessedShortened extract saved
    Why these labels?Jobs and Employment at Ampol

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 5 paragraphs: Where AmpCharge sits in Ampol's business; Grid connection and heavy vehicle charging context; What is and is not established.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 22 Oct 2026. The retained extract was cut to our text limit; omitted material has not been assessed here.

  3. [PDF] ASX Release - investorpa

    investorpa.com · accessed 22 Oct 2026

    Role not assessedShortened extract saved
    Why these labels?[PDF] ASX Release - investorpa

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 1 paragraph: Where AmpCharge sits in Ampol's business.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 22 Oct 2026. The retained extract was cut to our text limit; omitted material has not been assessed here.