Australian automotive news & analysis

Monday, 2 November 2026
EVs & hybrids ↗

BYD to launch second-generation Seal 07 in China on November 5, with EV and plug-in hybrid versions

The enlarged Ocean-lineage sedan reaches dealerships ahead of its launch, bringing BYD's second-generation Blade Battery, flash charging and DiSus-M suspension, but its larger body and rapid replacement cycle come against falling Seal family sales. No Australian launch is confirmed.

Synthesised from the cited sources. Research, writing and factual checks are automated using AI. Verify details against the sources. How we produce these reports

Share
DriveAgent illustration of the BYD Seal 07
DriveAgent illustration of the BYD Seal 07, based on the carexpert.com.au reference for the vehicle's appearance. The setting and any people are illustrative. Illustrated using a model-labelled publisher reference matched to the cited research snapshot. This is not the source photograph; local trim, equipment and unseen specifications are not established by the image. DriveAgent illustrationBYD Seal 07 — carexpert.com.au reference

Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms

BYD will launch the second-generation Seal 07 in China on November 5, refreshing its Ocean lineup with a larger sedan offered in battery-electric and plug-in hybrid forms. CnEVPost reported the date on October 30, citing Auto Home, which in turn cited official information from BYD. On the same day, Zhang Zhuo, general manager of BYD's Ocean lineup sales division, said on Weibo that the first display cars had arrived at showrooms in 131 Chinese cities. 1

CarNewsChina reported on October 30 that display units have arrived at Chinese dealerships in Aurora Pink and Pala Green, with customer deliveries planned for November. The same report carried a dealer billing notice listing a preliminary allocation price of 180,000 yuan (about 25,250 US dollars), which it stressed is not the final retail price; BYD has not announced official pricing for the new model. 3

The EV version opened for blind reservations on October 26 without pricing. CnEVPost, citing Zhang Zhuo's Weibo announcement and an official BYD poster, reported that reservation holders receive priority production and delivery, deposits are fully refundable before orders are locked in, configurations can be changed after launch, and reservation customers who take delivery receive exclusive gifts. The poster did not specify reservation arrangements for the plug-in hybrid. 6

The rapid replacement continues a compressed product cycle. CarExpert noted the first-generation Seal 07 plug-in hybrid launched in China in 2025, followed by the Seal 07 EV on March 5, 2026 in two variants priced at 169,900 yuan and 189,900 yuan, meaning the generational update arrives roughly eight months after that EV's launch. CnEVPost reported the same March pricing and described the update as coming about eight months on. 127

Larger body and packaging

The second-generation Seal 07 measures 5,080 mm long, 1,960 mm wide and 1,495 mm tall on a 2,960 mm wheelbase, figures reported consistently by CnEVPost, CarNewsChina and CarExpert and matching Chinese MIIT filings. It is 85 mm longer and 50 mm wider than the Seal 07 EV launched in March, with a 60 mm longer wheelbase to liberate more cabin space, while roof height is unchanged. The first display of the exterior came via Zhang Zhuo on Weibo on September 28, as CnEVPost reported. 1237

The design adopts BYD's Ocean Aesthetics 2.0 language, aligning the sedan visually with the larger Seal 08 sold in China. CarExpert detailed a closed-grille front with wave-shaped split headlights, a full-width tail-light assembly, a panoramic sunroof, semi-hidden door handles and a choice of 18-inch or 19-inch wheel designs. CnEVPost described a fastback silhouette and said the new model offers six exterior colours and three interior colour schemes. 1267

Boot space is specified at 618 litres, with the EV adding a 160-litre front trunk that the plug-in hybrid does not get, according to CarNewsChina and CnEVPost. For Australian context, CarExpert notes the new sedan is 240 mm longer than the Seal 6 sedan and wagon and 280 mm longer than the Seal electric sedan sold locally, but that comparison describes a Chinese-market model, not an Australian variant. 1362

EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging

Chinese MIIT filings show the battery-electric version offers two motor options with peak outputs of 245 kW (329 hp) and 300 kW, both higher than the 240 kW of the current Seal 07 EV, as reported by CnEVPost. The EV moves to rear-wheel drive on BYD's e-Platform 3.0 Evo, per CarNewsChina. CarExpert, citing BYD, said the officially revealed version has a rear-mounted 300 kW motor and a 240 km/h top speed, while the 245 kW entry version has so far appeared only in certification documents rather than the official reveal. 1237

CarNewsChina reports the two EV versions use 76.744 kWh and 88.682 kWh lithium iron phosphate Blade batteries respectively. The entry version is claimed at 775 km under China's CLTC cycle, equivalent to approximately 636 km WLTP, and the higher-output model at 875 km CLTC, approximately 718 km WLTP. Cars24 Australia's specification table lists the same battery capacities and range figures, adding that the 76.744 kWh battery weighs 539 kg and the 88.682 kWh pack 618.6 kg in the MIIT filing. These are test-cycle claims, not measured ranges, and the batteries' gross versus usable split has not been published. 34

The EV features BYD's second-generation Blade Battery with flash charging. BYD promotes the capability as "ready in 5 minutes, full in 9 minutes", a manufacturer claim CarNewsChina notes depends on operating conditions; Cars24 Australia's table lists a 10-to-97 per cent DC charge in 9 minutes for the entry version. No measured charging curve, temperature or state-of-charge conditions have been published for the model. 1634

DriveAgent illustration of the BYD Seal 07
DriveAgent illustration of the BYD Seal 07, based on the carexpert.com.au reference for the vehicle's appearance. The setting and any people are illustrative. Illustrated using a model-labelled publisher reference matched to the cited research snapshot. This is not the source photograph; local trim, equipment and unseen specifications are not established by the image.DriveAgent illustrationBYD Seal 07 — carexpert.com.au reference ↗

Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology

The plug-in hybrid retains the Seal 07 DM-i name, pairing a 1.5-litre turbocharged petrol engine rated at 115 kW (154 hp) with a 160 kW (215 hp) electric motor, and carries a 38.029 kWh LFP battery with a WLTC electric range of 245 km. CnEVPost, CarNewsChina, CarExpert and Cars24 Australia all report these figures from the Chinese filings, with the Cars24 table also listing a 4.25 L/100km depleted-battery fuel consumption figure that BYD states and a 190 km/h top speed. CarNewsChina said it omitted a depleted-battery consumption figure because published reports differ. 12347

The sedan is listed with BYD's DiSus-M intelligent magnetorheological body control system, front double-wishbone and reinforced rear five-link independent suspension, and BYD's Smart Ecosystem 2.0, per CnEVPost's reservation report and CarNewsChina. The cabin, teased by Zhang Zhuo on Weibo on October 23 and described as a "light-luxury cabin", features front zero-gravity seats with massage, ventilation and heating and a 20-speaker Devialet audio system. 6371

Display vehicles carry a roof-mounted LiDAR unit. CarExpert reports this points to BYD's God's Eye B advanced driver-assistance system, and CarNewsChina separately attributes the hardware to the DiPilot 300 ADAS suite in a photo caption. BYD has not detailed driver-assistance functions or their availability across trims, so the ADAS specification for individual variants remains unclarified. 1732

Sales context and Australian outlook

The update arrives against falling sales. CnEVPost's own compiled figures show the Seal lineup sold 46,718 vehicles in September, down 9.04 per cent year-on-year and 1.57 per cent from August, with 304,723 sold in the first nine months of 2026, down 14.11 per cent year-on-year; the lineup includes the Seal 07 and several other models, so these figures do not represent the Seal 07 alone. China EV DataTracker data cited by CarNewsChina put September Seal 07 sales at 624 units, split between 296 DM-i and 328 EV, with hybrid sales down 54.8 per cent month-on-month. Cars24 Australia cited the same tracker for 1,005 August deliveries. 1734

For pricing context, CarNewsChina reports the outgoing Seal 07 EV costs 169,900 to 189,900 yuan and the DM-i 149,800 to 186,800 yuan in China; these are Chinese-market list prices and say nothing about Australian pricing, which has not been announced on any basis. 3

No Australian launch is confirmed. Cars24 Australia reports the Seal 07 EV is exclusive to China for now and argues the larger sedan is unlikely to reach Australian showrooms soon because BYD already sells the standard Seal electric sedan there, while also noting that a BYD Seal 7 has cleared Australian government homologation and approval documents. CarExpert and Cars24 Australia separately report Australian certification filings published in May 2026 suggest a plug-in hybrid Seal 7 could become BYD's second local PHEV sedan after the Seal 6. BYD typically drops the zero from Chinese model names for export markets, per CarExpert, but the new Seal 07 has not been confirmed for Australia, and no local pricing, specifications or timing have been announced. 452

Share

AI evidence finder

Ask about this article

Ask a question to find relevant published passages and source links. AI selects evidence; the passages remain exactly as published.

Your question is processed by AI. Please leave out personal details.

0/400

Fact check

Assessment complete

Automated evidence review ·

This assessment compares the claims listed below with retained source evidence. It does not establish that every statement is true or replace the original sources.

See assessed claims (59)
  1. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD to launch second-generation Seal 07 in China on November 5, with EV and plug-in hybrid versions

    Launch date, China market and both powertrain versions supported across supplied sources.

  2. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    The enlarged Ocean-lineage sedan reaches dealerships ahead of its launch, bringing BYD's second-generation Blade Battery, flash charging and DiSus-M suspension, but its larger body and rapid replacement cycle come against falling Seal family sales.

    All elements (dealership arrival ahead of launch, Blade Battery, flash charging, DiSus-M, larger body, compressed cycle, falling Seal sales) documented.

  3. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    No Australian launch is confirmed.

    Sources state BYD has not confirmed the model for Australia at this stage.

  4. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD will launch the second-generation Seal 07 in China on November 5, with display cars already in showrooms in 131 Chinese cities.

    November 5 launch in China and 131-city showroom arrival supported by CnEVPost, citing Auto Home and Zhang Zhuo.

  5. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The EV version grows to 5,080 mm long with a 2,960 mm wheelbase, and offers 245 kW or 300 kW rear-drive motors with CLTC ranges of 775 km and 875 km.

    Dimensions, rear-drive outputs and CLTC figures supported; ranges are claimed/rated figures per source.

  6. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The Seal 07 DM-i plug-in hybrid pairs a 115 kW 1.5-litre turbo engine with a 160 kW motor and a 38.029 kWh LFP battery rated at 245 km WLTC electric range.

    PHEV powertrain, battery and WLTC electric range figures supported.

  7. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    Blind reservations opened on October 26 without pricing, and a preliminary dealer allocation price of 180,000 yuan has been reported but is not the final retail price.

    Blind reservations without pricing and reported preliminary allocation price with explicit non-retail caveat supported.

  8. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    No Australian specifications or availability have been confirmed, though May 2026 certification filings suggest a PHEV Seal 7 could eventually join the local range.

    Unconfirmed Australian specs/availability and May 2026 certification-filing inference supported.

  9. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms

    Heading content supported by documented launch date and showroom arrival.

  10. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD will launch the second-generation Seal 07 in China on November 5, refreshing its Ocean lineup with a larger sedan offered in battery-electric and plug-in hybrid forms.

    Launch date, Ocean lineup refresh, larger body and both powertrain forms supported.

  11. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost reported the date on October 30, citing Auto Home, which in turn cited official information from BYD.

    CnEVPost (s1) reports Auto Home reported the date on October 30 citing official BYD information; the attribution chain matches.

  12. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    On the same day, Zhang Zhuo, general manager of BYD's Ocean lineup sales division, said on Weibo that the first display cars had arrived at showrooms in 131 Chinese cities.

    Zhang Zhuo's role, Weibo statement and 131-city showroom arrival match the source text.

  13. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarNewsChina reported on October 30 that display units have arrived at Chinese dealerships in Aurora Pink and Pala Green, with customer deliveries planned for November.

    CarNewsChina (s4, dated Oct 30) reports colours and November customer deliveries.

  14. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The same report carried a dealer billing notice listing a preliminary allocation price of 180,000 yuan (about 25,250 US dollars), which it stressed is not the final retail price; BYD has not announced official pricing for the new model.

    Dealer billing notice, 180,000 yuan (25,250 USD) figure, non-final caveat and unannounced official pricing supported.

  15. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The EV version opened for blind reservations on October 26 without pricing.

    Reservations opened October 26 without pre-sales pricing (blind reservations) supported.

  16. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost, citing Zhang Zhuo's Weibo announcement and an official BYD poster, reported that reservation holders receive priority production and delivery, deposits are fully refundable before orders are locked in, configurations can be changed after launch, and reservation customers who take delivery receive exclusive gifts.

    All reservation terms (priority production/delivery, refundable deposits, post-launch changes, exclusive gifts) match s8.

  17. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The poster did not specify reservation arrangements for the plug-in hybrid.

    Source states the official poster did not specify reservation arrangements for the plug-in hybrid.

  18. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    The rapid replacement continues a compressed product cycle.

    Roughly six-to-eight-month replacement of the March-launched EV supports the compressed-cycle characterisation.

  19. Attributed claimPartly supported

    CarExpert noted the first-generation Seal 07 plug-in hybrid launched in China in 2025, followed by the Seal 07 EV on March 5, 2026 in two variants priced at 169,900 yuan and 189,900 yuan, meaning the generational update arrives roughly eight months after that EV's launch.

    CarExpert (s3) supports the 2025 DM-i launch and March 2026 EV launch, but the exact March 5 date and the 169,900/189,900 yuan pricing are not shown in CarExpert's own text (they appear in CnEVPost sources).

  20. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost reported the same March pricing and described the update as coming about eight months on.

    CnEVPost (s1) reports March 5 launch, the two variants' pricing and the roughly eight-month interval.

  21. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    Larger body and packaging

    Heading supported by documented dimension increases.

  22. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The second-generation Seal 07 measures 5,080 mm long, 1,960 mm wide and 1,495 mm tall on a 2,960 mm wheelbase, figures reported consistently by CnEVPost, CarNewsChina and CarExpert and matching Chinese MIIT filings.

    Dimensions reported by CnEVPost, CarNewsChina and CarExpert, with CarExpert noting consistency with the MIIT filing.

  23. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    It is 85 mm longer and 50 mm wider than the Seal 07 EV launched in March, with a 60 mm longer wheelbase to liberate more cabin space, while roof height is unchanged.

    85 mm/50 mm/60 mm deltas, cabin-space rationale and unchanged 1495 mm roof height supported.

  24. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The first display of the exterior came via Zhang Zhuo on Weibo on September 28, as CnEVPost reported.

    CnEVPost (s8, s9) reports Zhang Zhuo first unveiled the exterior on September 28.

  25. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The design adopts BYD's Ocean Aesthetics 2.0 language, aligning the sedan visually with the larger Seal 08 sold in China.

    Ocean Aesthetics 2.0 language and visual alignment with the larger China-market Seal 08 supported.

  26. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarExpert detailed a closed-grille front with wave-shaped split headlights, a full-width tail-light assembly, a panoramic sunroof, semi-hidden door handles and a choice of 18-inch or 19-inch wheel designs.

    All listed design and wheel details match CarExpert's text.

  27. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost described a fastback silhouette and said the new model offers six exterior colours and three interior colour schemes.

    CnEVPost (s9) describes the fastback silhouette; CnEVPost (s8) reports six exterior colours and three interior schemes.

  28. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    Boot space is specified at 618 litres, with the EV adding a 160-litre front trunk that the plug-in hybrid does not get, according to CarNewsChina and CnEVPost.

    618-litre boot, EV-only 160-litre front trunk and attribution to CarNewsChina and CnEVPost supported.

  29. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    For Australian context, CarExpert notes the new sedan is 240 mm longer than the Seal 6 sedan and wagon and 280 mm longer than the Seal electric sedan sold locally, but that comparison describes a Chinese-market model, not an Australian variant.

    CarExpert (s3) reports the 240 mm and 280 mm comparisons; the claim correctly qualifies them as a Chinese-market model comparison.

  30. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging

    Heading supported by documented outputs, Blade Battery and flash charging.

  31. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    Chinese MIIT filings show the battery-electric version offers two motor options with peak outputs of 245 kW (329 hp) and 300 kW, both higher than the 240 kW of the current Seal 07 EV, as reported by CnEVPost.

    MIIT filings, 245 kW/300 kW outputs and both above the current 240 kW supported via CnEVPost.

  32. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The EV moves to rear-wheel drive on BYD's e-Platform 3.0 Evo, per CarNewsChina.

    CarNewsChina (s4) states the battery-electric version moves to rear-wheel drive on e-Platform 3.0 Evo.

  33. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarExpert, citing BYD, said the officially revealed version has a rear-mounted 300 kW motor and a 240 km/h top speed, while the 245 kW entry version has so far appeared only in certification documents rather than the official reveal.

    CarExpert (s3) supports the rear-mounted 300 kW motor, 240 km/h top speed and absence of the 245 kW entry version from the official reveal.

  34. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarNewsChina reports the two EV versions use 76.744 kWh and 88.682 kWh lithium iron phosphate Blade batteries respectively.

    CarNewsChina (s4) lists the two LFP Blade battery capacities.

  35. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The entry version is claimed at 775 km under China's CLTC cycle, equivalent to approximately 636 km WLTP, and the higher-output model at 875 km CLTC, approximately 718 km WLTP.

    CLTC and approximate WLTP figures match CarNewsChina's text; presented as claimed/rated figures.

  36. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    Cars24 Australia's specification table lists the same battery capacities and range figures, adding that the 76.744 kWh battery weighs 539 kg and the 88.682 kWh pack 618.6 kg in the MIIT filing.

    Cars24 Australia's table lists the capacities, ranges and 539 kg/618.6 kg battery weights; MIIT-filing context supported by its text.

  37. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    These are test-cycle claims, not measured ranges, and the batteries' gross versus usable split has not been published.

    Sources describe them as claimed/rated test-cycle figures; no gross-versus-usable split appears in the supplied documents, though absence beyond these sources cannot be proven.

  38. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The EV features BYD's second-generation Blade Battery with flash charging.

    Second-generation Blade Battery and flash charging supported as BYD-stated features.

  39. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD promotes the capability as "ready in 5 minutes, full in 9 minutes", a manufacturer claim CarNewsChina notes depends on operating conditions; Cars24 Australia's table lists a 10-to-97 per cent DC charge in 9 minutes for the entry version.

    'Ready in 5 minutes, full in 9 minutes' promotion, the operating-conditions caveat and the Cars24 10–97% in 9 minutes table entry all supported.

  40. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    No measured charging curve, temperature or state-of-charge conditions have been published for the model.

    No measured charging curve or test conditions appear in the supplied documents; the caveat is framed as dependent on operating conditions, with absence provable only within this document set.

  41. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology

    Heading supported by documented PHEV powertrain and chassis items.

  42. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    The plug-in hybrid retains the Seal 07 DM-i name, pairing a 1.5-litre turbocharged petrol engine rated at 115 kW (154 hp) with a 160 kW (215 hp) electric motor, and carries a 38.029 kWh LFP battery with a WLTC electric range of 245 km.

    DM-i name, engine/motor outputs, battery and WLTC range supported across sources.

  43. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost, CarNewsChina, CarExpert and Cars24 Australia all report these figures from the Chinese filings, with the Cars24 table also listing a 4.25 L/100km depleted-battery fuel consumption figure that BYD states and a 190 km/h top speed.

    Cars24 table lists 4.25 L/100km (BYD-stated) and 190 km/h; the figures are reported across the named outlets.

  44. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarNewsChina said it omitted a depleted-battery consumption figure because published reports differ.

    CarNewsChina states the omitted depleted-battery figure because published reports differ.

  45. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The sedan is listed with BYD's DiSus-M intelligent magnetorheological body control system, front double-wishbone and reinforced rear five-link independent suspension, and BYD's Smart Ecosystem 2.0, per CnEVPost's reservation report and CarNewsChina.

    DiSus-M, front double-wishbone and reinforced rear 5-link suspension and Smart Ecosystem 2.0 match CnEVPost (s8); rear five-link and DiSus-M also in CarNewsChina.

  46. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    The cabin, teased by Zhang Zhuo on Weibo on October 23 and described as a "light-luxury cabin", features front zero-gravity seats with massage, ventilation and heating and a 20-speaker Devialet audio system.

    Zhang Zhuo's Weibo cabin teaser, 'light-luxury cabin' quote, zero-gravity seats and 20-speaker Devialet system supported.

  47. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    Display vehicles carry a roof-mounted LiDAR unit.

    Roof-mounted LiDAR on display vehicles supported by multiple sources.

  48. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarExpert reports this points to BYD's God's Eye B advanced driver-assistance system, and CarNewsChina separately attributes the hardware to the DiPilot 300 ADAS suite in a photo caption.

    CarExpert (s3) links LiDAR to God's Eye B; CarNewsChina (s4) caption attributes it to DiPilot 300 ADAS.

  49. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD has not detailed driver-assistance functions or their availability across trims, so the ADAS specification for individual variants remains unclarified.

    BYD has not detailed driver-assistance functions or per-trim availability, per multiple sources.

  50. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    Sales context and Australian outlook

    Heading supported by sales-pressure data and Australian outlook material.

  51. AnalysisSupported by the retained evidence

    The update arrives against falling sales.

    Sales-pressure framing supported by compiled September and nine-month figures.

  52. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CnEVPost's own compiled figures show the Seal lineup sold 46,718 vehicles in September, down 9.04 per cent year-on-year and 1.57 per cent from August, with 304,723 sold in the first nine months of 2026, down 14.11 per cent year-on-year; the lineup includes the Seal 07 and several other models, so these figures do not represent the Seal 07 alone.

    CnEVPost's figures (46,718; −9.04%; −1.57%; 304,723; −14.11%) and the caveat that these are lineup-wide, not Seal 07 alone, all match.

  53. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    China EV DataTracker data cited by CarNewsChina put September Seal 07 sales at 624 units, split between 296 DM-i and 328 EV, with hybrid sales down 54.8 per cent month-on-month.

    624 units, 296 DM-i/328 EV split and 54.8% hybrid month-on-month decline per China EV DataTracker, as cited by CarNewsChina.

  54. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    Cars24 Australia cited the same tracker for 1,005 August deliveries.

    Cars24 Australia cites China EV DataTracker for 1,005 August 2026 deliveries across PHEV and BEV.

  55. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    For pricing context, CarNewsChina reports the outgoing Seal 07 EV costs 169,900 to 189,900 yuan and the DM-i 149,800 to 186,800 yuan in China; these are Chinese-market list prices and say nothing about Australian pricing, which has not been announced on any basis.

    CarNewsChina reports the outgoing EV and DM-i price ranges; the claim correctly qualifies them as Chinese-market list prices with no announced Australian pricing.

  56. Factual statementSupported by the retained evidence

    No Australian launch is confirmed.

    Sources state the model has not been confirmed for Australia at this stage.

  57. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    Cars24 Australia reports the Seal 07 EV is exclusive to China for now and argues the larger sedan is unlikely to reach Australian showrooms soon because BYD already sells the standard Seal electric sedan there, while also noting that a BYD Seal 7 has cleared Australian government homologation and approval documents.

    Cars24 Australia reports China exclusivity for now, the Seal-overlap argument for unlikely near-term Australian arrival, and that a Seal 7 has cleared Australian homologation documents.

  58. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    CarExpert and Cars24 Australia separately report Australian certification filings published in May 2026 suggest a plug-in hybrid Seal 7 could become BYD's second local PHEV sedan after the Seal 6.

    Both CarExpert (s3) and Cars24 (s6) report May 2026 certification filings suggesting a possible PHEV Seal 7, with CarExpert noting it would be the second local PHEV sedan after the Seal 6.

  59. Attributed claimSupported by the retained evidence

    BYD typically drops the zero from Chinese model names for export markets, per CarExpert, but the new Seal 07 has not been confirmed for Australia, and no local pricing, specifications or timing have been announced.

    CarExpert's naming convention observation, unconfirmed status and absence of announced local pricing/specs/timing supported.

Our sourcing and editorial standards

Behind this report

Sources & context

How these labels work ↗

Cited source mix

7 cited pages across 4 websites

  • News publisher 1
  • Dealer / retailer 2
  • Role not assessed 4
Website breakdown

4 cited pages with an undocumented publisher role. Websites may share ownership or repeat the same reporting.

Saved research extracts

7 / 7 cited pages with saved extracts

0 shortened at our text limit · 0 without a saved-extract record

Extracts retrieved 1 Nov 2026.

Extracts can omit page content. These counts do not verify claims or measure independent reporting. Political leaning and reliability are not rated.

  1. BYD’s second-generation Seal 07 is due to launch in China

    cnevpost.com · 1 Nov 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?BYD’s second-generation Seal 07 is due to launch in China

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 11 paragraphs: Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms; Larger body and packaging; EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology; Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  2. Bigger new second-generation BYD Seal 07 sedan revealed in ...

    carexpert.com.au · 29 Sep 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    News publisherSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Bigger new second-generation BYD Seal 07 sedan revealed in ...

    Who produced it

    Publishes automotive news and reviews and operates a car-buying service connecting buyers with dealers. Identity reference ↗Identity checked 22 Sep 2026.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 8 paragraphs: Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms; Larger body and packaging; EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology; Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  3. 2nd-gen BYD Seal 07 reaches dealers with 402 hp and an 875 km range

    carnewschina.com · 30 Oct 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?2nd-gen BYD Seal 07 reaches dealers with 402 hp and an 875 km range

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 11 paragraphs: Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms; Larger body and packaging; EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology; Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  4. Next-gen BYD Seal 07 EV key details revealed in China

    cars24.com.au · 24 Sep 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Dealer / retailerSource extract saved
    Why these labels?Next-gen BYD Seal 07 EV key details revealed in China

    Who produced it

    Cars24 buys and sells used cars in Australia and states that it owns the cars it sells. Identity reference ↗Identity checked 22 Sep 2026.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 5 paragraphs: EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology; Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  5. New BYD Seal 07 revealed in China, could come to Australia

    cars24.com.au · 30 Sep 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Dealer / retailerSource extract saved
    Why these labels?New BYD Seal 07 revealed in China, could come to Australia

    Who produced it

    Cars24 buys and sells used cars in Australia and states that it owns the cars it sells. Identity reference ↗Identity checked 22 Sep 2026.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 1 paragraph: Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  6. BYD opens reservations for second-gen Seal 07 with ...

    cnevpost.com · 26 Oct 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?BYD opens reservations for second-gen Seal 07 with ...

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 5 paragraphs: Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms; Larger body and packaging; EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.

  7. BYD steps up teasers for second-gen Seal 07 sedan, turns focus to cabin

    cnevpost.com · 23 Oct 2026 · accessed 1 Nov 2026

    Role not assessedSource extract saved
    Why these labels?BYD steps up teasers for second-gen Seal 07 sedan, turns focus to cabin

    Who produced it

    We have not documented this publisher’s role. An unassigned label is not a negative rating.

    How this report uses it

    Cited in 8 paragraphs: Launch date confirmed and display cars reach showrooms; Larger body and packaging; EV powertrain: two outputs, new Blade battery and flash charging; Plug-in hybrid and chassis technology; Sales context and Australian outlook.

    This describes its use in our report. It does not establish the source’s editorial stance or independently corroborate every claim.

    Evidence record

    Text retrieved 1 Nov 2026. The retained extract did not reach our text limit. Extraction can still omit page content.